Welcome to Peggy’s Cove Area Festival of the Arts

Temporary Image


Since its launch in 2011, the Peggy’s Cove Area Festival of the Arts has grown quickly from a dream into a full-fledged not-for-profit celebration of the arts. This coastal festival is an early summer celebration of the wealth of artistic talent in an area just south of Halifax, Nova Scotia. The focal point is our beautiful St. Margaret’s Bay with its iconic Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse, but also includes other bays, harbours and coves such as Prospect Bay, Shad Bay, Head Harbour, Hubbards Cove and Mahone Bay.

Festival 2019 will open on the evening of Wednesday, July 3th. The Festival Launch, hosted at Shining Waters Marina, will feature live musical entertainment, refreshments, canapes, “Takeaway” artwork displays and a sepcial project exhibit called “Pieces of Eight: Art Treasure”.

Two events will be the highlights of Festival in 2019. The first, held between  July 5 th and 7th, is the Studio Tour where over 60 studio artists, galleries and art groups will welcome visitors through their doors. This is a unique opportunity to meet and interact with painters, potters, sculptors, wood and glass workers and jewellery artists at work in their studios.

The final event is a three day plein air painting event with 40 artists participating, held between July 13th and 15th, in the village of Peggy’s Cove. Artworks produced will be offered for sale in a large Mongolian yurt located a short walk from the Peggy’s Cove lighthouse. There will also be demonstrations by local artisans and a children’s art tent offering a variety of free creative activities.

Between festivals, you can always find fine art and crafts in our beautiful catchment area. You can view a list of our galleries or visit our Studio Tour page for more information.



Debbie Smith – President

Joanne Williams – Vice President

Pat Lindley –Corporate Secretary

Beth Newman– Treasurer

Susan George – Member at Large

Vicky Callen – Member at Large

Kristen Harrington – Member at Large

Philip Hodges – Member at Large

Leslie Tinkham – Member at Large